New to the club

Hello everybody!

I’m brand new to the group. I’ve just signed up for a membership on the Montrealers website.

Just wanted to make a post to find out a little more about what happens in this club overall. I can see from the discussion categories there are lots of posts about equipment and brewing techniques which is great!

Are there many get togethers (in person or virtual) that happen? If not, I’d love to take part in organizing future events! I’m big on the social and inclusive aspect of the craft beer world and excited to get to know all of you!

Happy brewing :slight_smile:

Megan

Also PS: I’m completely new to home brewing and wondering if you all know of any classes I could take - or if anyone wants to teach me a thing or two?

2 Likes

Hey Megan!

Welcome to the MontreAlers. Anik at Bootleggers in Baie D’Urfé regularly runs homebrewing courses. You can give them a call and see if they have one coming up. (They’re closed on Mondays.)

I’m sure one of the other members would be more than happy to have you come and help on a brewing session with them. You’ll find that a brew session consists mostly of cleaning and sanitizing stuff; so it’s always nice to have someone else around to help.

Meetings are regularly held (monthly), usually at someone’s house so that homebrew can be shared and evaluated, although since Covid, many of those meetings have gone virtual.

Stay tuned to this mailing list and you’ll hear about upcoming events.

Denis

4 Likes

Welcome to the club @PassengerMegan!!

There are many different ways to make beer at home. It depends on how much room you have and your budget for equipment. I highly suggest tagging along on a few brew days with different members to figure out what works for you. To help in that, what part of town are you located?