CO2 tank filling

Hey, I’m new here but I started brewing last winter. I’m just about to keg for the first time in the next few days and I have an empty 5lb CO2 tank but I’m not sure where to get it filled.

Is it important that the CO2 be food grade? At mout international they told me that they recommend Guard X that’s near them, but I read somewhere else that it’s not necessarily food grade. And I saw that Choppe à Barrock only does exchanges for 5lb tanks.

What would be the best place to get my tank filled rather than exchanged? I live in Villeray if that helps.

Thanks

@promaz Welcome to the club. The majority of our members fill up their tanks at one of the places listed on our resources page.

As for your worries about the CO2 being food grade, just remember that the source of the CO2 is all the same. Grading is determined by the way it is handled and stored. Places like Guard X or Globe may have a primary business of fire extinguishers, but it is the same truck that delivers bulk CO2 to them or a microbrewery. They even use the same type of storage vessels. Personally I’m not too worried that it is not labeled “food grade”.

1 Like

Great, thanks for the info!
My biggest concern was the “food grade” question because I had read on a few reddit threads that it was something to worry about, but I guess I’ll go to Guard X if it’s not a big deal.

I’ve heard the same for medical and food grade oxygen. Apprently it’s the same product than industrial grade.
Medical grade tank has only been into hospital, same for food grade and so on.

FYI, last time I went to Guard X, it cost me 27$ (5lbs tax in). Price keep going up everytime I go…
2018 : 20.50
2020 : 26.40
2021 : 27.20

I tried Globe in Lachine (nov. 2021) and it cost me 12$ + tax (13.80$)

Chope (Jan. 2022) is 25$ +tax for the exchange

@ericpare I’ve been going to Globe for years and the prices have not changed and service is top notch.