A lifetime of brewing!

A lifetime of brewing because I think some of you might not have been born yet when I started brewing!

Tomorrow, February 24th marks 27 years since my first batch of homebrew back in 1995 and to celebrate I’ll be brewing a Canadian Pale Ale, recipe #353. (That an average of a little over 13 batches per year…)

I’ve seen A LOT of changes since I started brewing, from the equipment and ingredients that are readily available now; to the quality and variety of the beer brewed by most beginner homebrewers.

I’ve also seen several MontreAlers turn their hobby into very successful careers and that certainly warms my heart. What definitely hasn’t changed is the camaraderie and the love for the hobby found among groups of homebrewers such as the MontreAlers. I’m proud to be a member of this group that I helped form and grow over all these years.

Cheers to you all.

Denis

4 Likes

Congratulations!

Thanks for sharing Denis, I really appreciate your participation in the group. Any chance we can see the celebratory recipe? :slight_smile:

I’m glad you are still committed to the hobby. Has it always been just a hobby or was there a time you dreamed of being a pro?
What makes a Canadian Pale ale different than an APA?

Congratulations Denis! Recipe 353, this is quite a successful adventure in homebrewing! And very inspiring.

I started homebrewing when La Cachette du Bootlegger was in a small house in Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue and were the only ones offering grain crushing on the island (that would be around 2000-2002) ! Then, I stopped for ~20 years and now everything has exploded! From all-in-one systems to hop varieties, access to raw material from around the world and now to the plethora of yeast strains available to the homebrewer, the scene has changed significantly indeed.

I hope you be able to brew another 647 batches, so we can celebrate your 1000th batch all together!

1 Like

Just the fact that I’m brewing it in Ontario. :wink: